Mental Health Journal

670px-Keep-a-Journal-to-Promote-Mental-Health-Step-4

Hi! My Name is Relax Damit! and I suffer live my life with various forms mental Illness.

Mental illness is nothing to be ashamed of. It took me a long time to come to terms with this. After my diagnosis of Bi-Polar I did SUFFER from mental illness. Why? Simply put I was feeling sorry for myself. Before my diagnosis I had been suffering for years, I just didn’t have a label to attach to what I was going through. Instead of prescriptions I self medicated with drinking.

Today I realize that I am responsible for managing my own treatment. Over time I have developed a personal Mental Health Journal. I had tried journaling in the past but the pen and paper routine did not work for me. I use a web-based tool called Evernote. Evernote is free and syncs across all my mobile devices.

The journal serves three main purposes. First it gets the often chaotic and conflicting thoughts out of my head. Second it allows me to logically review what I am dealing with. Third, I forward the latest entries of the journal to physiologist before our next meeting. These appointments have a time limit and i got tired of wasting the first 15 minutes on “tell what has been going on since our last visit.”

Here is my journal format:

Location:

Event:

Date

What I Was Doing:
Who I Was With: 
What Happened:
Automatic Thoughts:
Consequences:
Physical:
Action:
Challenging Thoughts:

Other Notes:

Leave a Reply

