Mental Illness Awareness Week

Great post

Somebody Tell Me I'm Doing Okay

IMG_2201

Oct 5-11 is Mental Illness Awareness Week in Canada, a national public education campaign to help shed light on the reality of mental illness.  1 in 5 Canadians are suffering with or recovering from some form of mental illness, including yours truly!

I am extrmley fortunate to work in a facility that promotes education and growth.  I have a vast amount of resources available for me, resources that help me understand the way I am, how to find relief, and how, ultimately, to know that my illness does not define me.

I am also very lucky to have healthy and positive relationships with the people that I love, who are understanding and supportive.

I found this book while I was teeming through the piles that we put on display at the library.  It’s a collection of personal essays from people in Canada dealing with mental illness.  It’s so nice to…

View original post 141 more words

Leave a Reply

