The Americans With Disabilities Act and Bipolar Disorder

good to here

followthecrumbsandpebbles

Perhaps I should have known this … but Bipolar Disorder is a covered disability under the Americans With Disabilities Act.  This fact didn’t become apparent to me until the last couple of days, during which I have been applying to job after job, many of which asked me to identify whether I had any of a number of listed disabilities, and bipolar was listed among them.  This carries with it a couple of advantages …. first, as I understand it, turning me down because of BPD is not permitted, unless the BPD directly relates to the job, and then, only if there can’t be an accommodation made to account for the BPD….second, to the extent a potential employer does business with the federal government, the potential employer may have certain advantages to hiring someone with BPD ….

I’ll take any silver lining I can find.

View original post

Leave a Reply

